Plans..

Part IV of the “Green Christian” series

Brittany Rivera

Jeremiah 29:11

 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

A year ago I received Jesus into my heart as my Lord and savior, and throughout this whole first year of walking with Him I heard this verse many times. I memorized it quickly because it was mentioned a lot in our pastors’ messages. When I first heard it I didn’t think much of the meaning behind the verse. I just understood that God had a plan for me. I learned that if I wanted to find out God’s plan for my life, then I had to seek Him in order to find out.

 The main thing I wanted to know was what I should pursue my bachelor’s degree in. I was in my last semester at Leeward Community College and I had no idea what I was going to do after that. I asked in prayer but didn’t get an answer. Little did I know God was working behind-the-scenes.

After attending church for a couple of months, He put it on my heart to serve in the Kids’ Ministry. I loved children and I had even thought about being a teacher in high school, but it never dawned on me to get a degree in education.  I enjoyed being a teacher’s assistant and helping to do activities and games. I regularly helped in the kindergarten and first grade class, but God gave me chances to help in all of the elementary school classes. As I continued to help every month, I started to think about pursuing a degree in teaching. The verse popped into my head again and again. I wondered if it was His plan for me to be a teacher. The thought never left my mind so I started praying about it. Through spending time with Him I got the confirmation I needed to go into the field of education. I knew He wanted me to be a teacher.

 The next step was to choose which school to go to: the University of Hawaii at Manoa or the University of Hawaii at West Oahu.  I thought Manoa was big and far, while West Oahu was small and close. I decided to go to West Oahu because it was safe.

 One Sunday after helping in Kids’ church, I came home and went straight into doing my devotions and praising God for giving me the opportunity to serve as a teacher’s assistant. It had been a great day of serving. After praying I went still to listen to His Voice.

I know you. You like to stay close to home because it’s in your comfort zone. I’m taking you out of your comfort zone daughter. You’re going to Manoa. Do not worry about the finances. I will provide for you. Have faith in me.

 I was shocked. I had actually thought I would go to West Oahu, but He had other plans. My comfort zone was LCC. West Oahu was located right next to LCC. It was where I felt secure, but God wanted me to step out in faith. I knew I had to step out and be obedient because disobedience was not an option.

 So I stepped out of my comfort zone and He has been with me every step of the way. I received automatic admissions into UHM for my baccalaureate degree. I also received more than enough financial aid for my first year. There were two classes I couldn’t get into because transfer and new students were the last to register and there were no spots left in both classes. I prayed and asked for favor. I thought of David in Psalms telling God his feelings and thoughts. So I did that. I told Him that if this was His plan for me then He would let me get into those classes. I got into both classes. I am officially a UHM student and enjoying my first semester. I am even more ecstatic to be there because I know it is in His plan for me to be there. I also started teaching in Kids’ church. He told me through my devotions to take the chance when it came and I was offered a position last month.

 God’s timing is perfect and so are His plans. It’s crazy to see parts of it unfolding right now before me. He is good and He keeps his promises to those who follow and seek Him. I’m not going to lie and say I didn’t worry and have any anxiousness or anxiety, but I didn’t make those feelings bigger than Him. I made Him big and knew He would take care of me. Through my journey of finding my career and picking a school, I confessed and believed in Jeremiah 29:11. It increased my faith when the enemy tried to lie to me. I truly understand the meaning behind it now than I did a year ago.

 I may not know all of His plans for me right now, but I’m sure of one thing. I’m hopeful for the future and all that He wants to do through me. Spend time with the Father and He will reveal to you parts of the destiny and plan He has for your life. It sounds easy but you have to discipline yourself in doing devotions and praying. Love and honor Him with all you’ve got. Spend time with Him and get to know who He is. He won’t reveal His plan to you all at once, but truly He has the best plan for your life. Your own plan can’t compare to His. He loves you so much that He wants to give the best because you are His child.

Leave a comment